MBTI: I’m a what?

Below is a homework assignment from Conflict Management. We took a version of the Myers Briggs personality test – I love personality test. I got results I didn’t expect. I landed on INFJ – Introversion, Intuition, Feelings, Judgment.

When we went over each letter in class, I felt a little slighted. Business tends to be a harsh and feelings-averse industry, but I thought I was better than that. In my own personal analysis, I discovered that at my best, I’m an introvert with a wide comfort zone, productively intuitive, under-control feelings, and flexible judgment (I admit when I’m wrong and I’m open to new ideas). I thought that seemed a little braggy at first. Then I realized, at my worst, I’m a shelled-up, know-it-all, dramatic, control-freak. Yeah, that seems about right haha.

______________________________________________________________

Complete the personality assessment online (link on Sakai) and read about your type. Pick a recent conflict and analyze it (briefly) through the personality lens.

Does personality help explain it?

Jung Typology Test (Same letters as Myers Briggs): ENFJ [1]

“Because you appear to have marginal or no (3%) preference of Extraversion over Introversion, marginal or no (3%) preference of Intuition over Sensing, characteristics of more than one personality type may apply to you:

ENFJ, ESFJ, INFJ and ISFJ.”

Choosing: INFJ

Conflict: Project Fresh dance group – conflicting “tone at the top” between me (president) and my VP. Our current motto is “dance to express, not to impress.” I want to uphold that motto – encouraging unlikely people to dance, learn to dance, choreograph, and even perform. My VP, “Josh,” wants the group’s motto to change to the completely opposite direction. He wants to impress rather than express – include auditions, make practices more intense, spend more money on costumes and props, and ensure high quality.

Through the lens of INFJ:

  • INFJ’s take on too much responsibility
    • I keep telling myself I’m going to quit PFresh because there’s so much stress, but I like the group, I like what I can do for the group, I can’t resist leadership and making any type of positive impact.
  • INFJ’s deeply care about their relationship with individuals
    • I’m deeply uncomfortable with the tension I feel with Josh (my VP). I can’t tell if we’re friends – because sometimes he acts like we’re best friends. I know he has a deep respect for me, as I have a deep respect for him, but I don’t know why because we are opposed on every major issue. I want to talk it out because I’m a communicator and I pride myself on understanding and communicating, but he prides himself on not being understood. I don’t want to offend him – it’s so easy to offend him.
  • INFJ’s are concerned with humanity at large
    • I firmly believe most people will disappoint you. Last year and the year so far affirmed my distrust. I don’t trust the rest of PFresh will put forth the effort to reach Josh’s goals. I barely believe they’ll do the bare minimum for my goals.

DECIDING WHAT I AM:

ENFJ:

Many ENFJs have tremendous power to manipulate others with their phenomenal interpersonal skills and unique salesmanship. But it’s usually not meant as manipulation — ENFJs generally believe in their dreams, and see themselves as helpers and enablers, which they usually are.

Big Picture

ENFJs are organized in the arena of interpersonal affairs. Their offices may or may not be cluttered, but their conclusions (reached through feelings) about people and motives are drawn much more quickly and are more resilient

ENFJs know and appreciate people.

ISFJ:

ISFJs are characterized above all by their desire to serve others, their “need to be needed – no

ISFJs are often unappreciated, at work, home, and play. – no

(“If you want it done right, do it yourself”) – yes

unwilling to toot their own horns about their accomplishments – no

one-on-one situations because of their patient and genuinely sympathetic approach to dealing with others – yes

Sounds like Mom?

ESFJ:

ESFJs are generous entertainers – no

ESFJs enjoy being in charge. They see problems clearly and delegate easily, work hard and play with zest. ESFJs, as do most SJs, bear strong allegiance to rights of seniority. They willingly provide service – yes

“wear their hearts on their sleeves,” – eh

When a decision must be made, especially one involving the risk of conflict (abhorrent to ESFJs), there ensues an in-house wrestling match between the aforementioned black-and-white – sometimes?

Maternal – yes

As caretakers, ESFJs sense danger all around–germs within, the elements without, unscrupulous malefactors, insidious character flaws. The world is a dangerous place, not to be trusted. – yes

INFJ:

they are generally “doers” as well as dreamers. This rare combination of vision and practicality often results in INFJs taking a disproportionate amount of responsibility in the various causes to which so many of them seem to be drawn – yes

idealist – no

INFJs are deeply concerned about their relations with individuals as well as the state of humanity at large – my distrust in them, yes

They are, in fact, sometimes mistaken for extroverts because they appear so outgoing and are so genuinely interested in people — a product of the Feeling function they most readily show to the world – yes

INFJs are true introverts, who can only be emotionally intimate and fulfilled with a chosen few from among their long-term friends, family, or obvious “soul mates.” – I see it

As a pattern of behavior, it is perhaps the most confusing aspect of the enigmatic INFJ character to outsiders, and hence the most often misunderstood – I like being rare, feel unique

unique perspective produced by this alternation between detachment and involvement in the lives of the people around them – yep

INFJs may well have the clearest insights of all the types into the motivations of others, for good and for evil. The most important contributing factor to this uncanny gift, however, are the empathic abilities often found in Fs, which seem to be especially heightened in the INFJ type (possibly by the dominance of the introverted N function). – I like to think so

“tug-of-war” between NF vision and idealism and the J practicality that urges compromise for the sake of achieving the highest priority goals – yes

difficult for INFJs to articulate their deepest and most convoluted feelings. – nope, practice makes perfect

Usually self-expression comes more easily to INFJs on paper, as they tend to have strong writing skills. Since in addition they often possess a strong personal charisma, INFJs are generally well-suited to the “inspirational” professions such as teaching (especially in higher education) and religious leadership. – yes please

INFJ “systems” are founded on human beings and human values, rather than information and technology. – whoah

INFJs hold deep convictions about the weightier matters of life – sure

Defender of the weak – no :/

Not easily led – yes

Though affable and sympathetic to most, INFJs are selective about their friends. Such a friendship is a symbiotic bond that transcends mere words.- yes

Knack for communication – yes

Nonverbal communication – yes

 

[1] I remember I used to be a strong ENTJ – but I’ve changed a lot in college. Since college began, I’ve been in crisis mode constantly because I overexert myself with multiple jobs, overloading on classes, and too much responsibility in my chosen activities. This has changed the way I look at my life and myself.

(Written early October, 2016)

Leave a Reply

